Tags

, , , , , , ,

My last full day in Vietnam.

I woke up numerous times from the aches and pains from my arm, roosters calls, and sleeping way too early yesterday.

The pains were too noticeable that I just stayed awake from 6:30 am.  Vincent and Ann woke up too, but they woke up because of the roosters.

There was this huge platter of fruit from the fields waiting for us to eat.  I ate most of the fruit there, Chum Chubs (spelling?), jack fruit, dragon fruit, this custard apple, and.. durian.  I had some Durian, which my family knows that I don’t particularly like.  At all.  But it was nice out here cause it was fresh.  I still didn’t like it, it had a very pungent smell and it was very slimey to eat!

That was how I spent the morning, eating fruit and guzzling down Vietnamese iced coffee.  So I am supposed to sip the iced coffee… I am told.

We had to leave at 4:40 pm and Ann’s cousins and uncle took us on their moped to wait for our bus at the stop.  Vincent was riding with me and his uncle, who was zipping through those small alleyway streets.

“Great… more mopeds.”

“Isn’t this fun, Uncle Ted?!” Vincent yelled in the blowing wind

“Uhhhh….not really, Vincent!” I shouted back

Ann’s cousin laughed in return.

When we got to our stop we had to wait for our bus, but it looked like a while.  A taxi pulled up and Ann’s cousin negotiated a flat fee of 300.000 dong to take us all the way back to HCMC.  That was 2 hours away and for 300.000 dong?  That was a steal!

So we piled into our taxi and happily on our way back to the hotel.  Happy because we weren’t being packed into a van like sardines.

As the night pressed on, we noticed the driver starting to fall asleep.  So we did our best to keep the driver awake till he got to a swap stop.  At the stop he changed spots with another driver so he could go back home to go to sleep.  It looked like he had a long day.

We were finally dropped off at our hotel and I checked into my room.

Ahhh flushing toilets!  And showers!

Doing my business, I plopped onto my bed trying to grab some comfort, which couldn’t be found because of the cast poking into the sides of my chest.

Eric kocked on my door telling me that they were going for dinner.  I went for my last bowl of Pho.