So I took the 24-70 L for a spin. And what I got was nothing short of spectacular!! It is heavy, as I said before… but I can take the weight!!

Here are some samples from the weekend shoot!

These were some horses around this horse ranch near this place I head up to on most weekends. I think I am really enjoying taking photos of horses! These two horses just came up to me from across the field to give me a sniff! That was pretty cool!

Well I am back to pondering if I should carry my 70-200 L with me to California. My camera bag cannot carry all of the lenses, although, I think I can but not as lightly or snuggly as I would want! But if I don’t bring it, I lose the range past 70. I know I want to use my ultra wide when I go to the national parks, cause 24 (well more like 38.4 on a 1.6 x crop camera) isn’t that wide!

As I stated my list of lenses:

  • 50 mm f/1.4
  • 12-24 f/4
  • 24-70 f/2.8
  • 70-200 f/4

Of these four lenses, I know I am going to bring the 50mm f/1.4. It is light, agile, and a decent range for most things.

The 12-24 f/4. It’s the wide lens for my crop sensor. 24, being the minimum, for the others won’t cut it!!

But what about portraiture work? That’s the situation that I am stuck in. the 50 mm would probably work for whole body shots, but not sure about just facial. That is where the 24-70 comes in! It is a great general use lens, if I had the 24-105, the problem would have been slightly alleviated, as it has a greater range. That would have been a great travel lens.

The 70-200 is my telephoto, albeit slow. f/4 for a telephoto? Means lots of camera shake! But the range from 70 to 200 means I can get closer inspections from a distance! Which means nice range shots!

Oh the trouble of what to bring!!

