Tags

, ,

In a way to better determine my photography, I consider myself a Laissez Faire Photographer. Though not in the economic sense.

lais⋅sez faire
/ˌlɛseɪ ˈfɛər; Fr. lɛseɪ ˈfɛr/ Show Spelled Pronunciation [les-ey fair; Fr. le-sey fer] Show IPA
–noun
1. the theory or system of government that upholds the autonomous character of the economic order, believing that government should intervene as little as possible in the direction of economic affairs.
2. the practice or doctrine of noninterference in the affairs of others, esp. with reference to individual conduct or freedom of action.

Wouldn’t Photojournalism be more appropriate? In a true sense maybe, but I like to sometimes edit my photographs. In true photojournalism, even the correction of white balance, for example, is scrutinized. Photojournalism, is exactly how it sounds. Journalism added with photography. When journalists write up partisan writings, they get hounded for not reporting the facts appropriately. Likewise, a photojournalist, in the trueist sense, has to shoot as is, no posing, scrutinized edits (meaning only tweaking upon approval of WB and exposure).

I believe it is important to differentiate the terminologies of photographic style and approach. Laissez Faire style photography, if you go by the second definition of the term, allows for photojournalism, but this is more lenient in terms of editing and posing.

When I photograph people, I try to not pose people but if have an idea it will be told to the models or clients to try. I am free from the boundaries that photojournalism conveys, so I can edit and pose all I want but still maintain a non-posing style of photography as I see fit.

