I think I first picked up a camera when I was 10, actually.  My dad had this weird rectangle ( I don’t know what it is called…) camera that looked like a minature version of the super old cameras.  It was a range finder type of camera and I enjoyed playing around with it.  I didn’t take any pictures with it, partly because we never had any film that would go in it and because I just liked to press the buttons.  But afterwards, I would put it back and just play videogames, watch cartoons, or run around causing havok outside.  Ahhhh youth!  I see that in my nephew today, although he does love to take photos too!  😀

Then in high school my uncle gave me this Advantix Kodak camera.  Do you remember the type of camera that had special film for it that allowed you to shoot Panoramics, regular size and a smaller version in camera?  Yep that one.  After my graduation, during the party I went around taking pictures of people I thought I would want to keep forever.  Too bad, reality wasn’t as nice as fantasy.  But in any case, I didn’t think about anything concerning aperture, shutter speed, etc.  It was mainly a point and shoot which I did exactly as it let me do.  Point and Shoot.

And then finally, in college I was working on my psychology degree preparing to get into graduate school, I took a film photography course during summer along with my sociology of sexuality course.  I spent most of my time in the summer in the dark room, learning about developers, fixers, and enhancing techniques with film.  Sepia tone really stinks!  Thank god when I sepia tone on my computer it doesn’t leave that kind of stink!  Cutting up my negatives and leaving them hanging on the line in the other room so they can dry after they been fixed.  I used my oldest brother’s Pentax camera.  Those negs can be found here:  Link.

From my film days.

The following Spring semester, the Fall I had to overload with psychology courses and research work, I took digital photography with Ken who was my instructor for my film course.  I first used a borrowed Canon G3 for a few shots, but finally feeling that I really enjoyed this, I set out and bought a Canon G5.  I didn’t have enough for a DSLR, well not that I knew anything about DSLRs back then.. We did mostly the same parameters as we did in the film, only this time we learned about it in the digital world and what goes with digital photography.

I took this right outside the campus center at Rutgers University, Camden in 2004.

So I learned about the digital world then and afterwards, I was in my last semester.  I had to finish my psychology degree, get ready for my graduate school applications, finish my research internship, and my advanced photography work put me in the drivers seat for my photography.  That semester, for my advanced photography, it was up to us for the entire semester to find out what we will focus on and produce the results.  Ken only asked us to provide samples of where we were going with our work.  Every meeting, which was one Friday a week, we had to bring samples for crit sessions.  I eventually figured I would photograph photos from New York City, but a classmate of mine suggested that I should overlay the photographs to make them more interesting.

As I was a faithful member of the fine arts department even though I wasn’t a declared Fine Arts major, I was allowed to put these up in the thesis show at the end of the semester.  This was also the first time I sold a photo!  I was happy!

Today, I look back and although I am still disappointed about not getting accepted into graduate school in personality psychology, I am still happy that my passion for both photography and psychology still persists.

