Tags

, , ,

I was asked a little while ago why I shoot a lot of hands and “headless” shots.  While facial expressions tell the exact story, I find that body language, other than the facial expressions, tell a more interpretive story.  And that’s the kind of story I would want to tell, something that leads towards personal introspection and interpretation.  As a second shooter, I can do all sorts of creative things that a main photographer can’t always do due to time constraints.  Like trying out different kinds framing, interpretive shots, various perspective shots, etc.  When I took a summer course at Rutgers University called Creative Arts therapy, (mixing my psychology and studio art work) I had my body language described to me.  Unknowingly, I might add!  I was walking up to my classroom and the professor was behind me examining my body language as I walked to the room.  She explained to me, by just looking at how I walk and position my arms and the movement of my arms, she could tell that I was relaxed, confident, and had a sort of power to my walk.  Also that I was very facially expressive, when she looked at me in front of the class!  So long story short, just observing the body, neck and below tells a lengthy story about a person also!

I also had an art historian examine my work and had more of my thought process and behavior deduced, but that’s a story for another time! ha!

This was during Chris’s and Margot’s rehearsal dinner.  Sure it wasn’t the big wedding the following day, but you can see a slight edgy feeling to the guy and mom in the photograph.  Her hand, (DEATH GRIP!  just kidding!) on his left arm and what looks like he is holding his hands down by his waist casually implies a soft touch, confidence and excitement for the future.

For that reason I try to do a lot of interpretive shots.

Framing people in a frame is pretty cool too!

Though sometimes is a hit or miss.  But shooting thru chairs usually work!

Every now and then I get shots like this:

Which I think is totally cool!  Candid to the extreme and sweet framing of the B & G!  Too bad the LCD screen wasn’t a tad larger…

