Tags

, , , , ,

I had the worst brain farts that I have ever had.

The previous night, I set my alarm to go off at 4:30 am thinking that would be good enough for my check in for my flight to Oregon.  My flight was at 6 am.  So I left immediately for the airport thinking that I had good time.  If you know me, you would know that I am usually 2 or 3 hours early before my flight anywhere.  So I got to the airport and got through checkin.  I was late for the check in.  Oh.  For @#$%!’s sake!

So I finished and went up to the security line.  Oh.  #@^$!

There was no way I was going to make it to my flight.  Not with this huge line!  So … I trudged through and I went straight to the airline desk to get a standby.  And I did standby.

While standing there, this guy goes on about how he likens weddings as funerals.  He was telling me how he is on the road 47 weeks out of the year and says that kills his marriage prospects.  And then this girl, who looks like she is in her 30s, starts cracking up saying she just left her wedding hours if not days ago!

Whoa.

So I went back to sit down to wait for my name to be called.  And then … nothing.  It was about 5 minutes till and this one guy, whom was oddly checked in as Daniel Kim but was not his real name, kept on arguing with the attendants about his seat.  By the time they finally said I could take his seat, the doors were closed and I was out of luck.  What made the situation worse was that every subsequent flight to chicago and from chicago to portland were fully booked.  If I wanted to bump my flight to the next day, that would mean paying an extra $150 which would be stupid because my original flight was $390!  Close to half of what I paid for!  So I told them nah I’ll go.  My assumed luck for me my check in bag was flagged as standby- meaning that if I got on the plane so does my bag.   I was told to go back to the check in to pick up my bag as it was still there.

Smiling.  I left and went back to the check in only to find that the aircraft loaded my bag.  What?!  They told me that when it returns it will be delivered to my house as it was not my fault.  And I got my checked bag fee returned to me.

I was picked up and dropped back off at home and did all the calls I needed to get my reservations cancelled and or refunded.  I have a travel credit to use till March of next year, my car rental, in progress, was cancelled and fees returned, but I couldn’t get a refund for my hotel stay.  Which was ok because I was only going to stay there for two nights.

So what am I going to do for these two weeks I am supposed to be on vacation?

I was going to go up to Boston and visit my brother, sister in law, and nephew for the week.  I just needed to decide about the week after.

